The Golden Path Quintet: Crocuses & Blackbirds is Book 1 of the Golden Path series by Margaret Montrose.

Nineteen-year-old Julie finds her way to the Cathedral, a place which will ease her troubled soul and guide her way toward the enigmatic Ellen MacAlister.

The Golden Path Quintet is as mesmerizing as an intricate poem. It is a story with more layers than one could expect. There is something about the story that I cannot quite put my finger on it. Perhaps enlightenment is a suitable word, but this novel is by no means religious. It certainly has depth that will satisfy the readers, as it did me.

The relationship between Julie and Ellen is somewhat surreal yet beautiful at the same time. The novel explores not only storytelling but also love, faith, and friendship. While the story is not hard to read, Montrose has a subtle way of asking more from the readers through her amazingly beautiful prose than the typical contemporary romance requires.

The story is told in a fantastic and charming manner. With The Golden Path Quintet, Montrose has indeed presented the dynamics of life that we often forget or intentionally refuse to acknowledge. Readers who enjoy novels with a dreamlike realism will definitely love this novel. Read, think and cherish it; share it with your loved ones, friends, and other book-loving enthusiasts that you know, because this might be one of the best books you will read this year.” Reviewed by Lit Amri for Readers’ Favorite

books online

Download more chapters here!

© Margaret Montrose 2014 - 2018

All artwork on the site by John Roberts
Website by Sneakytrick